Foreign minister puts 30 Belarusian citizens on list of persons undesirable in Latvia

  • 2020-08-31
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics (New Unity) has decided to place 30 Belarusian officials, including President Alexander Lukashenko, on Latvia's list of personae non gratae, or persons undesirable in Latvia, the Foreign Ministry informed LETA.

In line with what was decided by the Latvian Cabinet of Ministers, and in coordination with the Foreign Ministries of Estonia and Lithuania, 30 Belarusian officials have been indefinitely banned from entering Latvia.

Included on the list are individuals from the office and administration of the President of Belarus; the central election commission of Belarus; the Ministry of Interior and Ministry of Justice; the office of the General Prosecutor of Belarus; the State Security Committee; the Investigations Committee; the Security Council; the State Audit Committee; and the Executive Committee of the city of Minsk.

According to the Foreign Ministers, these individuals, through their personal actions, organized and supported the falsification of the 9 August 2020 elections for the President of Belarus as well as supported the violent suppression of peaceful protests.

Rinkevics underlined that Latvia strongly condemns the falsification of the 9 August presidential elections, the beating of peaceful protesters, and persecution of journalists and activists in Belarus.

"With our decision in this regard, the Latvian Foreign Minister said, we are giving a clear signal that such actions are not acceptable and that those responsible for such acts are not welcome in Latvia. We call upon the European Union to promptly proceed with similar decisions," the minister said.

The list of persons prohibited from entering Latvia includes incumbent President Lukashenko, his son Viktor Lukashenko,  as well as the following officials: Igor Sergeenko, Maxim Ryzhenkov, Olga Chupris, Dmitry Krutoy, Gennady Bogdan, Lidia Yermoshina, Vadim Ipatov, Elena Dmuhajlo, Svetlana Kacubo, Igor Plyshevskiy, Oleg Slizhevsky, Irina Tselikovets, Valery Vakulchik, Ivan Tertel, Ivan Noskevich, Aleksandr Konyuk, Yuri Karaev, Gennadi Kazakevich, Aleksandr Barsukov, Sergey Khomenko, Yuri Nazarenko, Roman Melnik, Ivan Kubrakov, Oleh Shablyko, Andrei Ravkov, Aleksey Volkov, Sergei Azemsha and Andrei Smal.