IIHF announced awards and all-star team of 2006 IHWC

  • 2006-05-22
  • By TBT staff
Niklas Kronwall of Sweden was named as tournament's MVP by the IIHF. The only other Swede to be so honored was Mats Sundin in 2003. The MVP award was instituted in 1999.

The IIHF Directorate Award winners are:
BEST GOALIE: Johan Holmqvist (SWE)
BEST DEFENSEMAN: Niklas Kronwall (SWE)
BEST FORWARD: Sidney Crosby (CAN)

The Media All-Star Team was also announced. The team members are:
Goal: Andrei Mezin (BLR)
Defense: Petteri Nummelin (FIN), Niklas Kronwall (SWE)
Forward: Sidney Crosby (CAN), David Vyborny (CZE), Alexander Ovechkin (RUS)