Self-isolation mandatory for people arriving in Latvia from nearly all European countries

  • 2021-01-17
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Like last week, self-isolation remains mandatory for travelers arriving in Latvia from nearly all European countries, except for the Vatican and Iceland, according to the information released by the Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC).

Latvia has set the self-isolation requirement for all arrivals from countries where the cumulative Covid-19 incidence exceeds 50 cases per 100,000 population. In the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA), this figure is lower only in the Vatican and Iceland. 

Self-isolation is mandatory for all travelers arriving in or traveling in transit to Latvia from the Czech Republic, which currently has the highest Covid-19 incidence in Europe, Andorra, Ireland, Slovenia, Portugal, Cyprus, Sweden, Monaco, Slovakia, Liechtenstein, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Denmark, Spain, Malta, Italy, Croatia, Luxembourg, Poland, France, Germany, Austria, Romania, Hungary, Belgium, Norway, Bulgaria, Greece, Finland and other European countries not included in the CDC list. In these countries public health threat is considered to serious. 

The list also includes Lithuania with 1,004.8 coronavirus cases per 100,000 population, Estonia with 603.6 cases per 100,00 population. Latvia's cumulative 14-day number of Covid-19 cases per 100,000 is currently 689.5.

As for the countries outside the EU, the EEA, self-isolation is not required on returning from South Korea, Rwanda, New Zealand, Thailand, Singapore and Australia. Arrivals from the UK and Japan now have to self-isolate. Travel from these countries to the EU is permitted. 

The CDC's updated list of countries is effective as of January 16.