Juri Ratas takes oath of office as new Estonian PM

  • 2019-04-30
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN – Center Party chairman Juri Ratas took the oath of office as the new prime minister of Estonia before the parliament on Monday afternoon.

Subsequently also all the other ministers of the new Juri Ratas government were to take the oath of office.

The new government led by Ratas consists of Center Party members Mailis Reps as minister of education and research, Taavi Aas as minister of economic affairs and infrastructure, Jaak Aab as minister of regional affairs, Tanel Kiik as minister of social affairs, Isamaa members Juri Luik as minister of defense, Raivo Aeg as minister of justice, Urmas Reinsalu as minister of foreign affairs, Riina Solman as minister of population affairs, Tonis Lukas as minister of culture and Estonian Conservative People's Party (EKRE) members Mart Helme as minister of the interior, Martin Helme as minister of finance, Rene Kokk as minister of the environment, Mart Jarvik as minister of rural affairs and Marti Kuusik as minister of foreign trade and IT.

President Kersti Kaljulaid appointed the government of the Center Party, EKRE and Isamaa into office on April 24.