European Commission finds Latvian ban on Russian TV channels consistent with EU law

  • 2022-07-05
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - The European Commission has found the National Electronic Mass Media Council's (NEPLP) decision to ban Russian television channels RTR Rossiya, Belarus 24, Rossiya 24, TV Centr, RBK, Mir 24, RTVi and BelRos consistent with the European Union's (EU) laws and regulations, NEPLP chairman Ivars Abolins informed. 

Abolins indicated that the European Commission's ruling means that the Latvian media watchdog's decisions have been recognized as lawful and justified on the EU level.

"We had no doubts about this decision, but we are nevertheless glad about the logical end of the channels' blocking process," the NEPLP chairman said, expressing confidence that a Latvian court, too, will dismiss RTR Rossiya's request to unblock the channel.

As reported, all Russia-registered TV channels are banned in Latvia since June 9. 

Latvia has stepped up measures to protect its media environment since Russia's invasion of Ukraine on February 24.