Delegation from US Congress expresses support to strong partnership between US, Estonia

  • 2021-07-08
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - A delegation from the United States Congress has expressed its support to strong partnership between the United States and Estonia.

"As the Baltic region faces serious and continuing security challenges, the United States is proud to support our steadfast NATO allies," Senator Wicker said. "This visit by a bipartisan and bicameral delegation is representative of the strong consensus in the US Congress to push back against the Kremlin's malign activities in the region. We also appreciate the important and growing contributions of Estonia and our other regional allies and partners as we work to address global security challenges."

"The American alliance with Estonia is based on shared democratic values. We appreciate our bilateral relationship and mutual efforts to support the democratic opposition in Belarus and independent voices in Russia," said Senator Cardin. "Across the 57 nations that are part of the OSCE, rising challenges to democratic norms require a sober and sustained response from those committed to the rule of law and the defense of human rights. Estonia and the United States are staunch allies in this contest."

The delegation from the United States Congress visited Estonia from July 6-8, to meet with Estonian leaders. While in Tallinn, the delegation met with Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas, Foreign Minister Eva-Maria Liimets, former president Toomas Hendrik Ilves, and chair of the Riigikogu foreign affairs committee Marko Mihkelson. The delegation also traveled to Narva where they met with local community leaders. During their meetings in both cities, the Congressional delegation highlighted the United States' strong commitment to regional security, including to the NATO alliance, and its long-standing partnership with Estonia. The delegation was led by Senators Roger Wicker of Mississippi and Ben Cardin of Maryland.

The delegation represented the US Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe, an independent commission of the US government advancing regional security through the promotion of human rights, democracy, and economic, environmental, and military cooperation. Other US members of Congress in the delegation were: Senator John Cornyn of Texas, Senator Thom Tillis of North Carolina, Representative Joe Wilson of South Carolina, Representative Lloyd Doggett of Texas, Representative Steve Cohen of Tennessee, Representative Andy Harris of Maryland, Representative Richard Hudson of North Carolina, Representative Marc Veasey of Texas, Representative Trent Kelly of Mississippi, and Representative Gwen Moore of Wisconsin.