Self-isolation not to apply to arrivals from 5 countries from Monday

  • 2021-01-24
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN – Passengers arriving in Estonia from Bulgaria, Finland, Iceland, Greece and Norway are not subject to the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement before traveling starting from Monday.

A 10-day restriction on freedom of movement applies to those coming from a European Union, European Economic Area and Schengen area country with an infection rate of more than 150 people per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days.

From Monday to Jan. 31, restrictions on freedom of movement will apply to arrivals from Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland, spokespeople for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said.

The infection rate of the Vatican is 0 but anyone travelling to Estonia from there through Italy is subject to the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement.

On Dec. 30, the Government of Estonia decided on requiring from passengers travelling from the United Kingdom to Estonia an additional negative COVID-19 test done not more that 72 hours before the beginning of the trip. No test is required from children under 10 years of age. Travelers who arrive form the United Kingdom to Estonia during the coming days and do not have the possibility to take the test 72 hours before the trip, have to be tested immediately upon arrival. These regulations apply also to passengers transiting through the United Kingdom on their way to Estonia. Passengers coming from the United Kingdom must still self-isolate for 14 days after the arrival. The 14-day self-isolation period may be shortened if the person takes another test on the seventh day after arrival and if both tests are negative.

On Dec. 17, the Council of the European Union reviewed the list of third countries included in Annex 1 of its recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU. According to the list, it is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, and Thailand. Passengers arriving from Japan, South Korea and Rwanda are subject to a 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement. Anyone arriving from the remaining countries listed by the Council are not required to restrict their movement.

The infection rate limit for passengers arriving in Estonia is reviewed on a weekly basis on Fridays and the new limit will take force the following Monday.

Due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against any non-essential international travel.