Saeima confirms the new Karins government

  • 2022-12-14
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Saeima today confirmed the second government to be headed by current Prime Minister Krisjanis Karins (New Unity).

54 MPs voted in favor of the new Karins government, while 37 voted against.

The coalition of the 14th Saeima will have a small majority - 54 seats in the 100-seat parliament.

It has taken 2.5 months to form the new government after the October 1 Saeima elections.

The new government will be made up of three political parties - New Unity with 26 seats, the United List with 15 seats, and the National Alliance with 13 seats.

Meanwhile, the opposition will be made up of four parties - the Union of Greens and Farmers, Stability!, the Progressives and Latvia First.

New Unity will be represented in the new government by Prime Minister Krisjanis Karins, Finance Minister Arvils Aseradens, Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkevics, Justice Minister Inese Libina-Egnere, Education and Science Minister Anda Caksa, Climate and Energy Minister Raimonds Cudars, and Welfare Minister Evika Silina.

The National Alliance will be represented by Economy Minister Ilze Indriksone, Defense Minister Inara Murniece, Culture Minister Nauris Puntulis, and Transport Minister Janis Vitenbergs.

Meanwhile, the United List will be represented in the new government by Health Minister Liga Mengelsone, Agriculture Minister Didzis Smits, Interior Minister Maris Kucinskis, and Environmental Protection and Regional Development Minister Maris Sprindzuks.