Passengers arriving in Estonia from European states required to self-quarantine

  • 2020-11-16
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - Just like last week, passengers arriving in Estonia from European states are subject to a 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement starting from Monday.

The mandatory self-isolation does not apply to passengers arriving in Estonia from a country of the European Union and the European Economic Area, the Schengen area and a country included on the common list of the EU with an infection rate below 50 persons per 100,000 inhabitants.

Based on the rate of those infected with the coronavirus, starting Monday, a 10-day restriction on freedom of movement will apply to those arriving in Estonia from the following European countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Spain, the Netherlands, Croatia, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Norway, Poland, Portugal, France, Sweden, Romania, Germany, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Denmark, the Czech Republic, Hungary, and the United Kingdom. While the infection rate in the Vatican is 0, passengers travelling therefrom to Estonia through Italy are nonetheless subject to the restriction.

The limit is reviewed on a weekly basis on Fridays and the new limit will take force the following Monday.

Based on an order of the Estonian government, the restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to asymptomatic people who have been on the territory of Lithuania, Latvia or Finland in the past 14 days and have arrived in Estonia directly from Lithuania, Latvia or Finland with the following preconditions:

(1) the person has taken a coronavirus test within 48 hours before their arrival in Estonia and the result is negative. When travelling to these countries from Estonia and returning to Estonia, it is possible to take the coronavirus test in Estonia, and return to normal life in case of a negative result. It is required to remain in self-isolation while waiting for the test results;

(2) they arrive in Estonia for the purpose of working, studying or receiving health services or for family reasons or transit. When travelling to Estonia for the reasons listed above, it is not required to take a coronavirus test before arriving in Estonia.

On Oct. 22, the Council of the European Union reviewed the list of third countries included in Annex 1 of its recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, and according to the list, it is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Uruguay. Anyone arriving in Estonia from Uruguay will have to self-isolate for 10 days, but people arriving from the other countries on the list are not obligated to self-isolate for 10 days.