New government approved

  • 2009-03-12
  • TBT Staff

New Prime Minister Valdis Dombrovskis of the New Era party will be heading the new government.

RIGA - TheLatvian parliament has approved the new government headed by Valdis Dombrovskisof the New Era party.

After a two hour debate, the motion was carried with 67 votes to 33 votesagainst according to Dombrovskis' press secretary.

The new Latvian coalition government consists of five parties the formeropposition New Era, the Civic Union as well as the People's Party, the Greensand Farmers' Union (ZZS), Fatherland and Freedom/LNNK (TB/LNNK). The newcoalition parties are represented by 64 lawmakers at the parliament.

New Era representative Einars Repse is the new finance minister, his fellowparty member Artis Kampars will become the economics minister, and New Erarepresentative Linda Murniece will be the interior minister.

Several People's Party ministers will remain in their previous posts --Ivars Eglitis as the health minister, Maris Riekstins as the foreign ministerand Edgars Zalans as the regional development and municipal affairs minister.The People's Party leader Mareks Seglins will now be the justice minister, andfuture People's Party member Ints Dalderis will be the culture minister.

Raimonds Vejonis and Tatajana Koke (ZZS) will be in charge of theEnvironment Ministry and the Education and Science Minister as before.Non-partisan Janis Duklavs has been named by ZZS for the agriculture ministerand ZZS member Uldis Augulis will become the welfare minister.

Kaspars Gerhards from TB/LNNK will be the transport minister, Imants Liegisnamed by the Civic Union will be the defense minister.

The government of Ivars Godmanis from Latvia'sFirst Party and Latvia'sWay (LPP/LC) stepped down on Deb. 20 when the People's Party and ZZS askedGodmanis to resign. Godmanis had been heading the government since Dec. 20,2007.