Commission for euro transition set up

  • 2005-02-02
  • Baltic News Service
TALLINN - The government on Jan. 27 established a commission of high-ranking officials to help ensure a smooth transition to the euro. The commission will coordinate preparations for the currency switch, plan the necessary administrative and legal measures, as well as activities required for the transition.

Estonia declared that it wished to adopt the euro on Jan. 1, 2007, at the latest. However, the country intends to be ready for the adoption of the common EU currency already by mid-2006.

The commission is headed by the chancellor of the Ministry of Finance, Aare Jarvan, and members include Bank of Estonia Vice Governor Andres Sutt, chancellor of the Justice Ministry Juri Pihl, chancellor of the Ministry of Economy and Communications Marika Priske, chancellor of the Interior Ministry Mart Kraft and the director for European Union affairs at the Estonian State Chancellery, Gert Antsu.