MP Krapane elected chairwoman of parliamentary inquiry commission on mandatory procurement component system

  • 2019-06-07
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA – MP Ieva Krapane (KPV LV) has been elected the chairwoman of the parliamentary inquiry commission on the mandatory procurement component (MPC) system.

Martins Steins (For Development) was elected the secretary of the commission. Other commission members will be Arvils Aseradens (New Unity), Ivars Zarins (Harmony), Sandis Riekstins (New Conservative Party), Romands Naudins (National Alliance) and Viktors Valainis (Greens/Farmers).

The parliamentary commission will investigate the government’s role in the creation of a system for subsidizing renewable energy producers and co-generation businesses that contravenes Latvian and European Union laws. The ad hoc committee also is also expected to investigate the reasons for the system’s poor supervision and control.

The commitment to phasing out the MPC system was one of KPV LV party’s main pre-election promises. Economics Minister Ralfs Nemiro (KPV LV) is currently heading the ministry in charge of MPC-related issues and is seeking solutions for the system’s abolition that would not result in major costs for the government.