Karins proposes that New Unity get energy minister's portfolio, United List - regional development minister and National Alliance - transport minister's portfolio

  • 2022-11-03
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Prime Minister Krisjanis Karins (New Unity) has proposed that New Unity could get the climate and energy minister's portfolio, United List - the portfolio of the regional development minister, and National Alliance - the transport minister's portfolio.

In total, New Unity would have seven ministers in the new government: prime minister, finance minister, foreign minister, education and science minister, justice minister, climate and energy minister, and welfare minister.

United List, besides holding Saeima chairman's post, will have four ministers in the government: interior minister, agriculture minister, health minister, and regional development minister.

National Alliance will also be represented by four ministers in the new government: defense minister, culture minister, transport minister and economics minister.

The three parties will meet on Friday, November 4, to discuss Karins' proposal.