European Commission urges to keep bloc's borders closed until June 15

  • 2020-05-08
  • LETA/DPA/TBT Staff

BRUSSELS - The European Commission on Friday urged EU member states to extend the temporary ban on non-essential travel into the bloc by one month until June 15, a statement said. 

All EU states except Ireland agreed in mid-March to stop non-essential travel into the European Union in order to slow the spread of the virus. 

The closure of the external borders of the EU and the Schengen travel area has a number of exceptions including for EU nationals and their families, long-term residents, diplomats, medical staff, researchers and cross-border commuters. 

The entry ban was already extended by a month but was due to run out on May 15.