Estonian formin hosts envoys of 3 Nordic countries on centennial of diplomatic ties

  • 2021-02-05
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - Estonian Foreign Minister Eva-Maria Liimets on Friday hosted the ambassadors of Denmark, Norway and Sweden on the occasion of the centennial of diplomatic relations between Estonia and the three countries.

Feb. 5 marks one hundred years from the day when Denmark, Norway and Sweden recognized the Republic of Estonia de jure, spokespeople for the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said.

On the occasion of the anniversary, Foreign Minister Eva-Maria Liimets hosted Danish Ambassador Kristina Miskowiak Beckvard, Norwegian Ambassador Else Berit Eikeland and Swedish Ambassador Mikael Eriksson.

The ambassadors delivered to the minister letters of congratulation from their respective ministries on the occasion of the anniversary.  

Liimets said in her speech that for Estonia, Denmark, Norway and Sweden are strategic, like-minded partners bilaterally, regionally, as well as in several international organizations. 

"Denmark, Norway and Sweden were among the first countries to demonstrate their support and friendship for the young Estonian state," the minister said. "Today we have a symbolic opportunity to look also to the future and think how to advance our cooperation so that the Nordic and the Baltic countries will develop as a competitive, sustainable and innovative region. I very much hope that our cooperation will expand soon also in the Arctic, as Estonia is seeking an observer status in the Arctic Council," she added.

Denmark, Norway and Sweden recognized the Republic of Estonia de jure on Feb. 5, 1921.