Estonia, Georgia strengthening cooperation in nature conservation

  • 2022-04-27
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - Georgian environmental protection leaders are visiting Estonia on Wednesday and Thursday to strengthen cooperation between the two states in the conservation of protected areas and natural values.

At the initiative of the Estonian Environmental Board and Ministry of the Environment, the principles and organization of environmental protection in Estonia as well as the Lahemaa National Park will be introduced to the visitors.

Director general of the Environmental Board Rainer Vakra and head of the Georgian Agency of Protected Areas David Iosebashvili will sign a memorandum of understanding on shared interests and cooperation in nature conservation in Palmse on Wednesday.

Vakra said that Estonia shares a common goal with its Georgian colleagues, which is to preserve a clean nature and living environment for future generations.

"In the memorandum, we confirm that it is in the interest of both our countries to further strengthen our cooperation in order to preserve protected areas by exchanging relevant information, experience and expertise," said Vakra. "We definitely have a lot to learn from Georgia's experience, and at the same time we have topics in which we can set an example for them," he added.

The meeting and discussion in Palmse will also be attended by Georgia's ambassador to Estonia Archil Karaulashvili, Georgian Deputy Minister of Agriculture Iuri Nozadze and deputy secretary general of the Estonian Ministry of the Environment Marku Lamp.

The delegation from Georgia will also get acquainted with the natural values at the Lahemaa National Park and visit the Viru bog.

On Thursday, the Georgian delegation will familiarize itself with the work of the Environmental Board, Center for Environmental Investments and Environmental Research Center to examine opportunities for expanding cooperation.

The memorandum of understanding marks the 30th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Estonia and Georgia.