Daugavpils hosts an international painting symposium to honour Silva Linarte

  • 2022-04-27

For the fourth time running, the Daugavpils Mark Rothko Art Centre hosts the Silva Linarte Painting Symposium to honour the distinguished Latgale artist and long-term art educator Silva Veronika Linarte (1939–2018) and celebrate her creative legacy. This year, the symposium fortnight brings together artists from Latvia, Greece, Poland and Peru.

Silva Linarte was born on 26 February 1939 in Līksna Parish, Daugavpils District. Her early childhood was spent in a forced settlement in Krasnoyarsk Krai, Siberia. After returning to Latvia, she graduated from the Rīga Secondary School of Applied Arts and the Art Academy with double qualifications of art educator and painter. For many years, she taught at the Rīga Secondary School of Applied Arts. When Latvia regained its independence, Linarte returned to live in her father’s country house. She continued her teaching career at the Daugavpils Secondary School of Arts and, in 1993, also took the post of the city’s Chief Municipal Artist. In her final years, she painted profusely and made her work public in several exhibitions.

To celebrate Linarte’s creative legacy and honour the generation of artists who shaped and transformed Latvian abstract painting, the Daugavpils Mark Rothko Art Centre holds the fourth Silva Linarte International Painting Symposium. Over the symposium fortnight, artists from Latvia, Greece, Poland and Peru will work in a shared creative space where their primary means of expression are colour, texture and the ephemeral sensations triggered by a direct and experiential engagement with the painting medium.

At 3 p.m. this Friday, 29 April, the Daugavpils Mark Rothko Art Centre will organise artist presentations where they will share their creative concepts and experiences. The following week, at 4 p.m. on Friday 6 May, the centre will open an exhibition of paintings created at the symposium. Both events are open to the public free of charge.


Symposium participants:

Paola Baertl (Peru);

Nika Grzymska (Poland);

Michalis Karaiskos (Greece);

Ingūna Levša (Latvia);

Anita Meldere (Latvia);

Irīna Špakova (Latvia).