Baltic nations to sign agreement on co-operation in emergencies

  • 2016-07-18
  • BNS/TBT Staff/Tallinn

The Baltic countries of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania have prepared an agreement on co-operation and mutual assistance in emergency situations.

The Estonian Interior Ministry has submitted for endorsement a bill through which the government will entitle the minister of the interior to sign the three-way agreement on co-operation in emergency prevention, readiness, and response, it appears from the draft information system.

The parties undertake to work together to facilitate speedy assistance to a country struck by an emergency in accordance with its request.

Upon the signature of the three-way agreement, similar documents between Estonia and Latvia, and Latvia and Lithuania will lose effect.