Baltic MPs to meet in Riga for discussions on security and energy supply

  • 2022-10-26
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Parliamentarians from Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania will gather in Riga for the 41st session of the Baltic Assembly (BA) this Friday, October 28, to discuss the Baltic nations' readiness to deal with the problems caused by external threats, as well as the creation of a resilient, interconnected and thoroughly coordinated energy supply system in the Baltic states, LETA was told at the Saeima press office. 

BA President and head of the Latvian delegation Janis Vucans (Greens/Farmers), as well as the parliament speakers of all three Baltic states - Latvia's Inara Murniece, Estonia's Juri Ratas and Lithuania's Viktorija Cmilyte-Nielsen, will open the session at the Saeima house. 

Also attending the opening of the BA 41st session will be Icelandic Parliament Speaker Birgir Armannsson, Montenegrin Parliament Speaker Danijela Djurovic, Poland's Senate Marshall Tomasz Grodzki, Ukrainian Parliament Vice Speaker Olena Kondratiuk, as well as European Parliament Vice President Roberts Zile (National Alliance) and EU Commissioner for the Environment, Oceans and Fisheries Virginijus Sinkevicius.

The 28th meeting of the Baltic Council - a platform for cooperation between the legislative and executive branches - is also take place on Friday, with Vucans, Latvian Economics Minister Ilze Indriksone (National Alliance), Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu and Lithuanian Deputy Foreign Minister Jovita Neliupsiene.

At the end of the BA session, BA medals awarded for promoting the Baltic states' unity will be presented in a ceremony at the Art Museum Riga Bourse. 

As reported, the Joint Jury of the Baltic Assembly decided that the 2022 Baltic Assembly Prize in Science would be awarded to Latvians Gustavs Strenga, Andris Levans, Renate Berga and Laura Kreigere-Liepina for the collective monograph "Rigas jezuitu kolegijas gramatu krajuma (1583-1621) katalogs. Krajuma vesture un rekonstrukcija" (Catalogue of the Riga Jesuit College Book Collection (1583-1621): History and Reconstruction of the Collection).