14-day self-quarantine will also have to be observed by persons arriving from Estonia - CDC

  • 2020-09-11
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - As Covid-19 continues to spread, travelers returning to Latvia from Estonia are also now required to self-isolate for 14 days because of an increased Covid-19 incidence in these countries, according to the latest data released by the Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC).

Meanwhile, Liechtenstein has been taken off of the list.

Based on the 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, the 14-day self-isolation requirement now applies to people who have been in Estonia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Malta, Sweden, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Germany, Slovenia, Italy, Slovakia, Portugal, Iceland, France, Poland, Croatia, Austria, Norway, Hungary as well as Denmark, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Greece, Monaco, San Marino and Andorra.

The 14-day self-isolation remains in force for returnees from Russia and Belarus, as well as all other non-EU countries not on the CDC list.

Self-isolation is not required for travelers returning from Australia, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, and Uruguay.

In Latvia, The self-isolation requirement does not apply to arrivals from countries where the 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases does not exceed 16 per 100,000 population.