14-day self-isolation mandatory for arrivals from six EEA and EU member states

  • 2020-06-26
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Travelers arriving in Latvia from six countries of the European Economic Area (EEA) and European Union (EU) - Sweden, Portugal, the UK, Romania, Bulgaria and Luxembourg -  are required to spend 14 days in self-isolation, according to the data from the Center for Disease Prevention and Control.

Those who are planning trips to the aforementioned countries will have to spend 14 days in self-isolation upon return to Latvia. The requirement also applies to those traveling in transit, namely, if the person has traveled through these countries or spent time at their airports.

The self-isolation requirement does not apply to arrivals from countries where the 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases does not exceed 15 per 100,000 population.

Latvia currently has the second lowest Covid-19 incidence in the EU and the EEA as its 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases is 0.9. The same incidence has been recorded also in Hungary, and only Liechtenstein has managed to achieve a zero incidence. 

The two other Baltic states have also seen their Covid-19 rates drop in the past couple of weeks. In Estonia the figure is down to 1.4 cases per 100,000 population and Lithuania' s 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases is 2 per 100,000 population. On June 19, Lithuania had 3.6 cases and Estonia 6.6 cases per 100,000 population.

Meanwhile, Covid-19 cases continue to surge at the fastest rate in Sweden which has recorded 154.5 cases per 100,000 population, much more than in any other EEA or EU country. 

Portugal follows with 44.2 cases per 100,000 population.

Given the circumstances, the Center for Disease Prevention and Control and the Health Ministry still do not recommend travel outside Latvia.