Zelensky confers Ukrainian state award to Murniece and parliament speakers from 11 other countries

  • 2022-10-24

KYIV - Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky has conferred Prince Yaroslav the Wise Order, II degree, to parliamentary speakers from 12 countries, including Saeima Speaker Inara Murniece (National Alliance).

The order has been awarded to the parliament speakers for a significant personal contribution to strengthening international cooperation, support for Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity and promoting the Ukrainian state in the world, according to the Ukrainian president's decree published on his official website.

The Order of Yaroslav the Wise has been awarded to the parliament speakers of all three Baltic states - Murniece, Lithuanian Seimas Speaker Victoria Chmilite-Nielsen, and Estonian Riigikogu Speaker Juri Ratas.

The Ukrainian state decoration has also been awarded to the Speaker of the US House of Representatives, Nancy Pelosi, the President of the German Bundestag, Barbelle Bass, the Marshal of the Polish, Sejm Elzbieta Witek and the Marshal of the Polish Senate, Tomasz Grodzki.

Murniece said on twitter that the news about the Order of Prince Yaroslav the Wise awarded by President Zelenskyy made her feel very honored and that it is a "recognition for the work and commitment of the whole parliament of Latvia".