Tourists without symptoms can return home from quarantine areas

  • 2020-03-09
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN – Regarding the quarantine regime introduced in the Lombardy region and the Parma, Piacenza, Rimini, Reggio Emilia, Modena, Pesaro and Urbino, Venice, Padua, Treviso, Alessandria, Verbano-Cusio-Ossola, Novara, Vercelli, and Asti provinces in Italy, the Estonian Foreign Ministry on Sunday advised citizens without symptoms of the coronavirus to return home.

Quarantine zones have to be exited through designated checkpoints and tourists are allowed to exit the zones for returning home. However, the ministry recommends assessing one's condition and that of one's family, which means that if people have a fever above 37.5 degrees Celsius, they should remain at home or at their place of accommodation and call the emergency services number for treatment. Those who have left the risk area have to remain in quarantine for 14 days and monitor their body temperature.

The Foreign Ministry asks the people remaining in the quarantine zone to follow the instructions of local authorities. There can be additional restrictions on movement within the zone and only essential errands are allowed, for example, for medical assistance, shopping for essentials and going to the pharmacy.

For the time being, trains and airplanes entering the zone are on their regular schedules, however, when leaving the zone, people have to present returning to their permanent place of residence or homeland as just cause for leaving. Estonian citizens who are having trouble returning home are advised to contact the consular assistance emergency helpline: +372 53 019 999. The ministry also recommends citizens to contact their travel agents and airlines.

People can read more about restrictions and guidelines for actions on the ministry’s Reisi Targalt website in Estonian.