Several lawmakers of new Saeima give their oath in Latgalian language

  • 2022-11-01
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - The new convocation of the Saeima was sworn in today and several lawmakers chose to give their oath in the Latgalian language.

The lawmakers who chose the Latgalian for their oath was Glorija Grevcova (Stability), Ilja Ivanovs (Stability), Viktorija Pleskane (Stability), Anna Rancane (New Unity), Leila Rasima (Progressives), Nadezda Tretjakova (Stability), Edmunds Teirumnieks (National Alliance) and Juris Vilums (United List).

Today, the new Saeima convened for its first session.

As reported, the best result in the 14th Saeima elections was achieved by New Unity (JV), which won 26 mandates in the 14th Saeima, followed by the Union of Greens and Farmers (ZZS) with 16, the United List (AS) with 15, the National Alliance (NA) with 13, Stability with 11, the Progressives with 10, and Latvia First (LPV) with nine mandates.