Self-quarantine must now also be observed after visiting San Marino, the Netherlands, Iceland, Poland and Cyprus

  • 2020-08-09
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - As Covid-19 continues to spread, travelers returning to Latvia from San Marino, the Netherlands, Iceland, Poland and Cyprus are now required to self-isolate for 14 days because of an increased Covid-19 incidence in these countries, according to the latest data released by the Center for Disease Prevention and Control (CDC).

Based on the 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, the 14-day self-isolation requirement now applies to people arriving in Latvia from Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Belgium, Bulgaria, Malta, Sweden, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Portugal, Iceland, France, Poland, Croatia, Austria, Cyprus, Monaco, Andorra and San Marino.

The 14-day self-isolation remains in force for returnees from Russia, Belarus, Australia, Morocco and Canada, as well as all other non-EU countries not on the CDC list.

Self-isolation is not required for travelers returning from Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Of all the European Union and European Economic Area countries, Luxembourg currently has the highest Covid-19 incidence - 182.6 cases per 100,000 residents. Romania has the second highest rate of 85.6 cases per 100,000 residents.

Among the Baltic states, the highest 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases has been recorded in Lithuania, which has 7.6 cases per 100,000 population, Estonia has recorded 7.3 cases per 100,000 population, but Latvia - 3.8 cases per 100,000 population.

In Latvia, The self-isolation requirement does not apply to arrivals from countries where the 14-day cumulative number of Covid-19 cases does not exceed 16 per 100,000 population.