Self-isolation requirement to apply to arrivals from 27 European countries

  • 2020-09-01
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - Starting from Aug. 31, a two-week self-isolation requirement applies to people arriving in Estonia from 27 countries of Europe.

Based on the coronavirus incidence rate, starting from Monday, a two-week self-isolation requirement applies to people arriving in Estonia from Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland,  Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

According to the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, starting from next week, self-isolation is not compulsory for passengers arriving from Lithuania, Latvia, Norway, San Marino, Slovakia,  Finland, Hungary and the Vatican.

Information about countries and requirements is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at

On Aug. 7, the Council of the European Union updated the list of countries outside of the EU on the recommendations of the temporary restriction and possible lifting of restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union, allowing travel to Estonia from Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs urges that travel be avoided, except to European countries where there have been 16 or fewer infected people per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days and that are on the list of countries from which people arriving in Estonia are not required to self-isolate.

As the situation in other states may change rapidly, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs urges travelers to take this into consideration when making travel plans.