Raimond Kaljulaid elected deputy chair of parlt's EU affairs committee

  • 2021-12-13
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - The European Union affairs committee of the Estonian parliament at a sitting on Monday elected Raimond Kaljulaid as deputy chairman of the committee, while Siim Kallas will continue as chairman.

The extraordinary election was held due to the resignation of the previous deputy chair, Riina Sikkut.

Other members of the EU affairs committee include Enn Eesmaa, Kalle Grunthal, Ruuben Kaalep, Siret Kotka, Tarmo Kruusimae, Oudekki Loone, Lauri Laanemets, Anti Poolamets, Martin Repinski, Riina Sikkut, Timo Suslov, Margit Sutrop, Aivar Soerd, Raivo Tamm and Urve Tiidus.

The European Union affairs committee is a standing committee of the Riigikogu that has a deciding and coordinating role in the issues of the European Union in the Riigikogu. Unlike the members of other standing committees, the members of the EU affairs committee may at the same time also belong to some other standing committee. The members of the board of the Riigikogu may also belong to that committee. The positions of the committee are observed as directions by the government in the issues connected with the EU.