Presidents of 8 states make statement in support of Ukraine's EU candidacy

  • 2022-03-01
  • LETA/BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - The presidents of eight European Union (EU) member states late on Monday night made a joint statement in support of Ukraine's swift candidacy for the European Union.

"We, the presidents of the EU member states: the Republic of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania, the Republic of Poland, the Slovak Republic, and the Republic of Slovenia strongly believe that Ukraine deserves receiving an immediate EU accession perspective," the statement reads.

"Therefore, we call on the EU member states to consolidate highest political support to Ukraine and enable the EU institutions to conduct steps to immediately grant Ukraine an EU candidate country status and open the process of negotiations," the presidents say.

The statement also says that in this critical moment, the heads of state of the eight countries reiterate their full solidarity with Ukraine and its people.