State of emergency zone increased amid swine fever outbreak

  • 2014-07-22
  • From wire reports, RIGA

The Latvian government today declared a state of emergency in all border areas with Russia and Estonia following an outbreak of African swine fever.

The government supported the proposal from the Agriculture Ministry to declare a state of emergency in areas including
 Rezekne, Ludza, Aloja, Mazsalaca, Rujiena, Naukseni, Valka, Burtnieki, Koceni, Beverina, Strenci, Priekuli, Rauna, Smiltene, Ape, Aluksne, Vilaka, Balvi, Rugaji, Baltinava, Preili and Riebini regions.

The Latvian Agriculture Ministry said the necessary funds would be allocated towards combating the disaster, reports.

African swine fever, harmless to humans, causes high death rates in pigs. The disease was first discovered in Latvia on June 26 near the Belarusian border. The Saeima declared the state of emergency from July 2 until October 1 in a number of areas.