Nestor new speaker for Riigikogu

  • 2014-03-20
  • From wire reports, TALLINN

The Estonian Riigikogu elected on March 20 Social Democratic Party MP Eiki Nestor as the new Riigikogu speaker, while the deputy speakers remained unchanged, reports Public Broadcasting. Fifty-four MPs out of 101 voted for Nestor.

Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL) member Ene Ergma, who had been the Riigikogu speaker for nearly a decade, was also proposed as a candidate and 45 MPs voted for her, though this was not enough for her to get re-elected.

One hundred MPs out of 101 participated in the voting. One ballot was invalid.

Nestor thanked Riigikogu members for their support. "I wish for the Riigikogu to be close to the people. If closeness on a first name basis seems inappropriate to some, a more polite form of address could be used, but I certainly don't want the Riigikogu to be called ‘them,’” Nestor said.

The Riigikogu re-elected Reform Party member Laine Randjarv as the first deputy speaker and Center Party member Juri Ratas as the second deputy speaker. Randjarv received 51 votes and Ratas 48.