Lithuania, Latvia express concern over new eurozone proposals

  • 2011-09-13
  • TBT Staff

VILNIUS -- Lithuania and Latvia are two of seven East European countries that have expressed grave concern over new proposed amendments to the eurozone treaty.

Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Bulgaria and Romania -- all EU members that have agreed to pursue future eurozone membership -- said they wanted to be included in eurozone talks over the future of the monetary union and that they are concerned about the direction it might be headed.

A diplomatic source told AFP that the seven countries might go so far as to force a referendum on EU membership over the issue.