New Estonian government sworn in

  • 2007-04-06
  • From wire reports
Estonia's new coalition government, headed by Reform Party Chairman Andrus Ansip, took its oath of office in Parliament on April 5 officially assuming governance of the country.

Prime Minister Ansip read out the oath, promising to remain loyal to Estonia's constitutional order. He and the ministers of the new government then signed the document.

The government is made up of a coalition agreed last week between Reform, the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL), and the Social Democratic Party.

In addition to the prime minister, Reform is represented in the new government by Foreign Minister Urmas Paet, Justice Minister Rein Lang, Culture Minister Laine Janes, Social Affairs Minister Maret Maripuu and Environment Minister Jaanus Tamkivi.

The ministers of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL) in the new government are Helir-Valdor Seeder (agriculture), Tonis Lukas (education and science), Juhan Parts (economic affairs and communications), Jaak Aaviksoo (defense) and Vallo Reimaa (public administration).

Finance Minister Ivar Padar, Interior Minister Juri Pihl and Population Minister Urve Palo represent the Social Democratic Party in the ruling coalition.

At a meeting with President Ilves later in the day Ansip pledged that the new government would work hard and all the ministers would succeed both separately and together in the government.

The prime minister also promised that the government would not reject any good idea of the opposition just because it had been presented by the opposition.

The new government will have its first session next Thursday.