Murniece elected chair of Saeima National Security Committee; Spruds to chair European Affairs Committee

  • 2022-11-24
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Lawmakers on Thursday elected former speaker Inara Murniece (National Alliance) chairman of the Saeima National Security Committee. 

In the vote on the committee's next chairman, four members of the committee voted for Murniece and two for rival candidate Vilis Kristopans (Latvia First).

Maris Kucinskis (United List) was elected vice-chairman and Ainars Latkovskis (New Unity) secretary of the National Security Committee. 

Meanwhile, the Saeima European Affairs Committee elected Andris Spruds (Progressives) as its chairman, LETA was told at the parliamentary press office. 

Ugis Rotbergs (New Unity) was elected vice chairman and Rihards Kols secretary of the European Affairs Committee.