Lithuania orders tests on arrivals from 6 countries with mutated mink coronavirus

  • 2020-11-15
  • BNS/TBT Staff

VILNIUS – Lithuania on Friday ordered travelers arriving from six states that have recorded a mutated coronavirus strain in mink farms to get tested for COVID-19 as of Monday, but removed Slovakia from its list of affected countries. 

The six countries are Denmark, Spain, Italy, the United States, the Netherlands and Sweden, the Health Ministry said.  

Travelers from the six countries will have to have been tested negative for COCIVD-19 no more than 48 hours before their arrival in Lithuania or register for a test within 24 hours after their arrival. The latter will have to self-isolate until they receive a negative result. 

The preventive measure is temporary and will be in place until experts examine the mutated strain of coronavirus detected in animal farms and its threat to human health, the ministry said.  

It also said that it had removed Slovakia from the list of countries arrivals from which are subject to 10-day isolation or testing requirements. The "blacklist" is updated every Friday. 

"As Lithuania is currently mapped as red, only countries in the grey area are deemed to be affected, namely: Northern Ireland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland, as well as all third countries," it said. 

Countries are marked as green, yellow and red zones based on their infection rates and other indicators. The grey group includes countries that have not provided the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control with data or those with 7-day testing rates lower than 300 per 100,000 people.