Latvian citizens will not be able to travel without visa to Kazakhstan until end of year

  • 2021-05-05

NUR SULTAN - Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, citizens of Latvia and 53 other countries will not be able to enter Kazakhstan without a visa until the end of the year, the Foreign Ministry of Kazakhstan said.

"Continuing its efforts to fight the coronavirus infection in the country, the Kazakh government has decided to extend the unilateral visa-free regime for citizens of 54 countries until December 31, 2021," the ministry said in a statement.

The previous decision of the Government of Kazakhstan to suspend the visa-free regime for citizens of Latvia and other countries due to the Covid-19 pandemic was valid until May.

Among the 54 countries whose citizens have had visa-free travel to Kazakhstan suspended are Estonia, Lithuania, the United States, Australia, the United Kingdom, Germany and a number of other European countries.

Kazakhstan introduced visa-free travel for Latvian citizens in 2017.