Kucinskis' government marks one year in power

  • 2017-02-12
  • BNS/TBT Staff

RIGA - Yesterday marked one year since the Maris Kucinskis (Greens/Farmers) government took power.

The PM plans on organizing a press conference next week to report what his government has accomplished during this time, and what the government's future plans are.

Saeima approved the Kucinskis government on February 11, 2016.

Five ministers in the Kucinskis government represent the Greens/Farmers Union - Prime Minister Kucinskis, Agriculture Minister Janis Duklavs, Defense Minister Raimonds Bergmanis, Finance Minister Dana Reizniece-Ozola, and Transport Minister Uldis Augulis.

Unity is represented by Foreign minister Edgars Rinkevics, Interior Minister Rihards Kozlovskis, Economics Minister and Deputy Prime Minister Arvils Aseradens, Education and Science Minister Karlis Sadurskis, and Welfare Minister Janis Reirs.

The National Alliance has the following government portfolios - Environmental Protection and Regional Development Minister Kaspars Gerhards, Justice Minister Dzintars Rasnacs, and Culture Minister Dace Melbarde.

Health Minister Anda Caksa, who is not a member of any political party, replaced Guntis Belevics (Greens/Farmers) as minister last year after several scandals involving Belevics.

The government's priorities remain the growth of the national economy, healthcare reforms, educational reforms, and defense, the prime minister recently reminded.