KPV LV group in Saeima says Vitenbergs must resign as economics minister

  • 2021-05-12
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - The KPV LV group in the Saeima decided today that Janis Vitenbergs (National Alliance) must resign from the post of economics minister.

Maris Mozvillo, chairman of the KPV LV group in parliament, and his deputy Aivars Geidans informed LETA about the decision to recall Vitenbergs from the ministerial post.

The KPV LV group in the Saeima has thus accepted the decision taken earlier by the KPV LV board.

Geidans told LETA that MP Ralfs Nemiro abstained from voting, while Geidans, Janina Kursite, Ivars Puga and Edgars Kronbergs voted against the economics minister's removal. Meanwhile, MPs Ieva Krapane, Kaspars Girgens, Eriks Pucens and Maris Mozvillo voted to demand Vitenbergs' removal. 

The vote cast by Mozvillo as chairman of the group proved decisive, Geidans said. 

Responding to the group's decision, Geidans, Kursite, Puga and Kronbergs decided to quit the KPV LV group and form a new group in the Saeima together with former KPV LV member Atis Zakatistovs. They also pledged continued support to Prime Minister Krisjanis Karins' (New Unity) government.

Karins said in an interview with TV3 channel this morning that if the KPV LV group in the Saeima states unequivocally that they want Vitenbergs to resign, he will demand the minister's resignation as he has no other choice.

Calls for Vitenbergs' resignation were made after the economics minister switched political parties, leaving KPV LV for the National Alliance.