Juri Ratas reelected as president of Estonia's Riigikogu

  • 2022-03-17
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - Juri Ratas from the Center Party has been reelected president of the Estonian parliament at the election of the board of the Riigikogu on Thursday.

Ratas' candidacy was supported by 53 MPs while his competitor Helir-Valdor Seeder from the opposition Isamaa party garnered the support of 36 MPs. Altogether 95 MPs participated in the election of the Riigikogu president. Six ballot papers were invalid.

Ratas' candidacy was set up by chairman of the Center Party group in the parliament Jaanus Karilaid while Seeder was put forward by deputy chair of the Isamaa group Priit Sibul.

In the election of vice presidents of the Riigikogu, chairman of the Reform Party group Mart Vorklaev set up Hanno Pevkur as the party's candidate for the position while chairman of the opposition Estonian Conservative People's Party (EKRE) Henn Polluaas nominated Martin Helme for the post.

Altogether 88 MPs took part in the secret vote with Pevkur garnering 52 votes and Helme 32. Four ballot papers were invalid.

According to the number of votes received, Pevkur was reelected first deputy speaker and Helme reelected second deputy speaker of the parliament.