Estonian MPs condemn finmin calling into question legitimacy of US elections

  • 2020-11-09
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - The Estonia-United States parliamentary group made a statement on Monday, in which it deemed unacceptable that a member of the Estonian government should call into question the legitimacy of US elections. 

"Estonia's national security is based on a climate of trust and mutually respectful relations with our allies," the statement reads. "It is unacceptable that any member of the Estonian government should call into question the legitimacy of US elections -- it is directly incompatible with Estonia's national interests."

"In the Nov. 3 free and fair election, the people of the United States gave their support to Joseph R. Biden Jr.," the parliamentary group said. "The United States has been determined and unwavering in its support to Estonia's independence throughout history. The United States never recognized Estonia's annexation into the Soviet Union." 

"Following Estonia regaining its independence, the United States has helped build up our defense capability and been a guarantor of Estonia's security as a member of NATO. Estonian and US troops stand side by side on foreign missions for democracy and freedom. The military presence of NATO in Estonia is the most efficient deterrence to those opposing Estonia's independence."

"The democratic world is in need of a rules based world order more than ever before. Strong transatlantic relations are the prerequisite for peace, stability and development, and Estonia and the United States have shared interests in this regard," the MPs said.

The statement is signed by members of the Estonia-United States parliamentary group Andres Sutt, Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Sven Sester, Yoko Alender, Mihhail Lotman, Urve Tiidus, Raivo Tamm, Aivar Soerd, Taavi Roivas, Madis Milling, Kristen Michal, Kalle Laanet, Juri Jaanson, Kristina Smigun-Vahi, Erki Savisaar, Martin Repinski, Hanno Pevkur, Heljo Pikhof, Maris Lauri, Eerik-Niiles Kross, Raimond Kaljulaid, Maria Jufereva-Skuratovski, Marko Sorin, Hele Everaus, Kalvi Kova and Toomas Kivimagi.