Estonian govt resigns

  • 2023-04-11
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN – Estonian Prime Minister Kaja Kallas announced the resignation of the government after the election of a new board of the Riigikogu on Monday.

Kallas announced that, according to the Constitution, the current government of the Reform Party, Social Democratic Party (SDE) and Isamaa will resign. According to the law, the government will resign when the new composition of the Riigikogu convenes, but will continue to fulfill its obligations until the new government takes office.

The government led by Kaja Kallas until Monday took office on July 18 last year and was in office for 267 days. In the action plan of the Reform Party, Isamaa and the Social Democratic Party (SDE), the performance of 109 tasks was foreseen in the period from August 2022 to April 6, 2023. Of these, 88 tasks have been completed and 21 tasks were left unfulfilled, government spokespeople said.

The minister of economic affairs and infrastructure had the highest number of completed tasks, altogether 19 completed tasks, the minister of culture had 10 and the minister of the interior also had 10 completed tasks, while the minister of education and research, the minister of the interior, the minister of social protection, the minister of health and labor and the minister of foreign affairs completed all their tasks stipulated in the government's action plan.