Estonia imposing sanctions on 30 Belarusian officials

  • 2020-08-31
  • BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN – The Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Monday published a list of Belarusian officials subject to prohibition on entry according to the International Sanctions Act.

These individuals have a central role in falsifying election results in Belarus and using violence against peaceful protesters, spokespeople for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said.

The five-year prohibition of entry to the Republic of Estonia, in force from August 31, 2020 until August 30, 2025, applies to Alexander Lukashenko, the minister of the interior of Belarus, the minister of justice, the prosecutor-general, officials of the president's administration, members of the Central Commission of Belarus on Elections and representatives of law enforcement.

"With these sanctions, we are demonstrating that we are addressing the human rights violations in Belarus with utmost seriousness. At the same time, we consider it important not to punish the people of Belarus," Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said. He emphasized that Estonia supported the free will of the people of Belarus and their aspirations for democratic change.

Latvia and Lithuania simultaneously published their lists of individuals subject to entry ban. Sanctions of the European Union are currently also being drafted.