Swedbank shareholders nominate Swedish ex-PM chairman of board of directors

  • 2019-05-14
  • LETA/BNS/TBT Staff

TALLINN - The five largest shareholders in Swedbank AB, who also form the Swedbank nomination committee, have proposed to appoint former Swedish prime minister Goran Persson as chairman of the Swedbank board of directors. 

The Swedbank nomination committee has requested for Swedbank's board of directors to call for an extraordinary general meeting. Furthermore, the nomination committee proposes new elections of Bo Magnusson and Josefin Lindstrand, the bank told the stock exchange.

The nomination committee proposes reelection of Bodil Eriksson, Mats Granryd, Kerstin Hermansson, Bo Johansson, Anna Mossberg and Magnus Uggla. 

Goran Persson was the leader of the Swedish Social Democratic Party from 1996 to 2007 and served as prime minister of Sweden from 1996 to 2006.