Porzingis ranks sixth in 2020 NBA All-Star voting first returns

  • 2020-01-03
  • LETA/NBA/TBT Staff

NEW YORK - Latvian basketball star Kristaps Porzingis ranks sixth in the Western Conference frontcourt at the moment, according to the 2020 NBA All-Star voting first returns released on Thursday.

LeBron Jones (Los Angeles Lakers) and Luka Doncic (Dallas Mavericks) are the only two players to have received more than a million votes in the Western Conference so far, while the Slovenian's teammate Porzingis currently ranks sixth in the Western Conference frontcourt group.

The Western Conference frontcourt, led by Jones, also includes Anthony Davis with 955,246 votes, followed by Kawhi Leonard (Los Angeles Clippers) with 740,657 votes, Paul George (Clippers) with 280,894 votes, Karl-Anthony Towns (Minnesota Timberwolves) with 173,129 votes, Porzingis with 171,749 votes, Nikola Jokic (Denver Nuggets, 160,934 votes), Carmelo Anthony (Portland Trail Blazers, 142,292 votes), Brandon Ingram (New Orleans Pelicans, 118,188 votes), and Dwight Howard (Lakers, 69,785 votes).

The Western Conference guards group is led by Doncic, with James Harden (Houston Rockets, 749,080 votes) in second place and Damian Lillard (Trail Blazers, 202,498 votes) in third, followed by Stephen Curry (Golden State Warriors), Russell Westbrook (Rockets), D'Angelo Russel (Warriors), Donovan Mitchell (Utah Jazz), Alex Caruso (Lakers), Devin Booker (Phoenix Suns), and Ja Morant (Memphis Grizzlies).

The Eastern Conference frontcourt group is led by Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks, 1,073,358 votes), followed by Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers), Pascal Siakam (Toronto Raptors), Jimmy Butler (Miami Heat), Jayson Tatum and Tacko Fall (Boston Celtics), Bam Adebayo (Heat), Gordon Hayward (Celtics), Andre Drummond (Detroit Pistons), and Domantas Sabonis (Indiana Pacers).

In the Eastern Conference guard group, Trae Young (Atlanta Hawks) currently ranks first with 443,412 votes, followed by Kyrie Irving (Brooklyn Nets), Kemba Walker (Nets), Derrick Rose (Pistons), Zach LaVine (Chicago Bulls), Ben Simmons (76ers), Jaylen Brown (Celtics), Kyle Lowry (Raptors), Bradley Beal (Washington Wizards), and Spencer Dinwiddie (Nets).

NBA All-Star Voting presented by Google began on December 25 and runs until January 20.

The NBA All-Star Game starters, including the two team captains, will be announced on January 23. The reserves, as selected by NBA head coaches, will be announced on January 30.

The 2020 NBA All-Star Game will be played on February 16 at the United Center in Chicago, home of the Chicago Bulls.