International passenger transportation services to all EU, EEA countries, Switzerland and the UK allowed

  • 2021-01-07
  • LETA/TBT Staff

RIGA - Enforcing epidemiological safety measures for travelers by introducing requirement for all people arriving in Latvia to present a negative Covid-19 test, passenger transportation to and from all EU, EEA countries, Switzerland and the UK, as decided by the government on Thursday.

Until January 15, international passenger transportation is banned to and from countries where 14-day cumulative Covid-19 incidence per 100,000 residents exceeds the average incidence in the EU and EEA countries twice. From Monday, January 4, passenger traffic has been banned to the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Slovenia and San Marino.

As reported, people arriving in Latvia will have to present a negative Covid-19 test starting from January 15. The test has to be taken in the past 72 hours.

The regulations will come into force along with similar regulations in Lithuania and Estonia.